Day 1 I suppose

Wow, this feels awkward. I’ve always thought it strange to write about yourself, be it my crippling shyness or just lack of enthusiasm to write about myself. Well, YOLO, right?

Anyways, I’ve been putting off this blog thing for a really long time, and decided today is the day. Today I’m going to get over this irrational fear and start a blog.


pexels-photo

Insert blog stuff.


I can already imagine myself looking at this in the future and cringing. Oh well.

For the past year and a half, I’ve been working on my novel, A Disagreement in Honor. I happen to love the title but my boyfriend thinks it’s stupid and pompous. But in the end it doesn’t really matter, if this project ever gets published I have  no control over the title. Not that it bothers me too much, I mean hot damn, getting published would be a dream come true.

And then I researched the process. The more I read, the more disillusioned I became, which is all my fault but whatever. Your book becomes a product a company tries to polish to its utmost potential, leaving you with little creative choice. They aren’t wrong, it takes a lot of effort to publish a great book. Even with all that work, your book has the possibility of not selling well.

I’d say that’s pretty depressing and disheartening.

Although knowing all of that, I haven’t stopped working on it (that’s a lie, I’ve been taking a small four month break). I don’t think I can or ever will. One way or another, by traditional or nontraditional means, I will get it published. So now the only issue that remains is the book itself. I know it isn’t perfect, and I have a small grasp of where the issues lie. The problem is fixing those issues.

It’s funny how writing was the easy part.

I suppose this blog is a catalog(?) of my efforts. Maybe also serving other blog purposes- I need to look this shit up.

Hey, maybe my next blog post will be about my research into what I should include in blogs.

Leave a Reply

